Day: November 15, 2023

QUINCY — The executive director of the Quincy Museum said Saturday’s weather helped drive a good turnout for this year‘s Folk Life Festival.

“We couldn’t have asked for better weather today,” Barb Fletcher said. “Last year we suffered through some rain, and two years ago it was hot. This year, we’ve been fortunate and people have been appreciative of the nice day to come out and see what we have to offer.”

Read the rest

The fourth annual “Art of Fashion” design competition and runway show returns to the Niagara Arts and Cultural Center Saturday with couture creations by 32 local designers being worn by more than 80 models.

In honor of Veterans Day, this design competition and runway show challenged designers to create art inspired by the bravery and resilience of warriors. The “Warriors” Runway Show will be hosted by Kate Glaser of Hope Rises and designs will be judged by Destiny Rogowski of Sweet Heart Pin Ups, Jordan Massimi: Style Mister and owner of Backroom Vintage, Ninja of Ninja Stylz Salon, and designer and international Niagara brand ambassador, Tina Mt. Pleasant.

These are not typical everyday apparel, but rather art presented on a human canvas along a movable gallery where artists can push the boundaries of wearable art design: These one-of-a-kind creations range from dresses made from abandoned teddy bears to steel cages covered in crystal; from up-cycled upholstery to classic vintage.

The designs featured in this year’s runway show were created by professional artists/designers as well as by upcoming stars from local design programs at Buffalo State, NCCC and even South Park High School. Designers include Amy McCalister, Amy Respeto Gonzalez, Anyelis Mendez, Aria Dasher, Brian “Bella” Bussard, Brook D’Angelo, Candace Masters, Carolyn Russell, Chelsea Badding, Dalia Perez, Danielle Ando, Denise Kelly, Ethan Bradley, Evelyn Schrimmel, Janice Spagnola, Jason Buckley, Julia Finucane, Karen Mock, Kia Ellis, Kodee Weir, Kristen Palmeri, Kyle-Lynn Tuttle, Laura Chenault, Liz LaMoy, Maria McLaughlin, Mary Grace Ohrum, Medis Kent, Sheila Zuni, Sydney Ford, Therese Camarra and Veronica Kruger.

Prizes will be awarded for creativity, showmanship and outstanding artistic merit.

The doors to the art center will open at 5 p.m. treating the crowd to a pre-show party with models wearing winning designs from previous years, live music and

Read the rest