Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards announce 2023 nominees

Article content

The Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards (CAFA) has released the list of nominees for this year’s awards.

The annual event, which recognizes the “leading and emerging talent currently shaping the Canadian and global fashion industry,” is set to take place Oct. 14 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

Article content

This year marks the 10th anniversary of CAFA, a milestone that co-founder and president Vicky Milner calls “a very special” one.

Article content

“As I reflect on the last 10 years, I’m so proud of the incredible community we’ve built and the opportunities, connections, and meaningful change we’ve helped to create in our industry and beyond,” Milner said in a news release.

Selected by a nominating committee of industry professionals, the nominees span various categories including Womenswear Designer of the Year, Menswear Designer of the Year, and Emerging Talent, Accessories. Nominated brands on this year’s list include Toronto-headquartered jewelry brand Mejuri, sustainable style option KOTN, and Vancouver-based bodywear brand Londre, among others.

Past winners have included Canadian fashion stars such as designers Aurora James and Jason Wu, actor Kim Cattrall, supermodel Coco Rocha and more.

To learn more about CAFA, or to purchase tickets to the gala event, visit cafawards.ca.

2023 CAFA Nominees

Womenswear Designer of the Year 

  • Eliza Faulkner
  • Hilary MacMillan
  • Silk Laundry

The Menswear Designer of the Year 

  • École de Pensée
  • Frank And Oak
  • Raised by Wolves
  • SECTION 35

Emerging Talent, Fashion

Article content

  • 3-Dimensional
  • Adidem Asterisks*
  • Dorian Who
  • Golshaah
  • Ouma
  • Ste. Marg. Scot.

Emerging Talent, Accessories 

  • Life Liveth
  • Lo’bat
  • Lunar Rain
  • Lunetterie Generale
  • Omi Woods
  • Steff Eleoff

Accessory Designer of the Year

  • Biko
  • David Dunkley Fine Millinery
  • Dean Davidson
  • Lambert
  • Vitaly

Outerwear Brand of the Year 

  • HiSO
  • Quartz Co.
  • Rudsak

Fashion Innovation 

  • BlackCart
  • Blanka
  • Cash Labs
  • Olbrich Knitwear

Fashion Design Student 

  • Allison Dunne
  • Eunice Chow
  • Jacqueline Bradica
  • Sam Huang
  • Serena Li
  • Will Crosson

Image Maker of the Year 

  • Evaan Kheraj
  • Garrett Naccarato
  • Nick Merzetti
  • Renata Kaveh
  • Richard Bernardin

Stylist of the Year 

  • Bobby Bowen
  • Florence O. Durand
  • Leila Bani
  • Nadia Pizzimenti
  • Olivia Leblanc

Fresh Face of the Year 

  • Coco Labbee
  • Heather Diamond Strongarm
  • Kate McNamara
  • Nyawurh Chuol
  • Ryan Park

Model of the Year 

  • Alexis Carrington
  • Angaer Adrop
  • Diane Chiu
  • Lauren Chan

Fashion Impact 

  • Aille Design
  • Fashion Art Toronto
  • Manitobah
  • Mejuri
  • KOTN

Digital Fashion Creator 

  • Carla Rockmore
  • Dorian Who
  • Liv Judd
  • Sara Camposarcone
  • Sasha Exeter

Sustainability Award

Makeup Artist of the Year

  • Aniya Nandy
  • Caroline Levin
  • Julie Cusson
  • Nate Palacios
  • Sabrina Rinaldi
  • Simone Otis

Hair Artist of the Year 

  • Andrew Ly
  • Adrian Carew
  • Kirsten Klontz
  • Kristjan Hayden
  • Ryan McGovern
  • Stephane Scotto Di Cesare

[email protected]

Related Posts